Lewis is principal at Career Magnet

Sandra ClarkOur Town Leaders

Dr. Charlene Lewis is the new principal of Career Magnet Academy. She replaces Matthew Mosley, who is now director of Career Technical Education for KCS. Dr. Lewis worked for six years as a teacher in Hamilton County before joining Knox County Schools in 2011 as a TAP master teacher. She began her career in administration in 2014 as an assistant principal at South-Doyle High School, and later served as an assistant principal at Northwest Middle School. She is currently an assistant principal at Farragut High School. Her bachelor’s degree is from MTSU, while she has two master’s degrees from UT-Chattanooga and her doctorate from UT-Knoxville.

Bryan Brown has been appointed athletic director specialist for Knox County Schools. He worked for 13 years as a teacher and coach in four states before joining KCS in 2008. He has been a teacher and coach at Hardin Valley Academy since its founding year. His bachelor’s degree in history and political science is from Jamestown College and his master’s in athletic administration is from Liberty University.

Alex Moseman has been appointed executive director of talent acquisition for Knox County Schools. Moseman worked for two years as reading teacher at John Marshall Community High School in Indianapolis, before joining Wabash College in 2013 as assistant director of admissions. In 2015, he became manager of fellowship recruitment for the non-profit Building Excellent Schools, where he managed campus recruitment for master of business administration and master of arts candidates at Harvard, Yale, Columbia, Rice and the University of Chicago. He returned to Indianapolis Public Schools in 2017 as the director of talent acquisition. His bachelor’s degree is from Wabash College and his master’s is from Marian University, both in Indiana.

Previously announced changes include:

  • Tim Berry from principal at South-Doyle HS to federal programs supervisor for KCS.
  • Rebecca Bitner from assistant principal at South-Doyle MS to principal of Ridgedale School.
  • Megan Blevins, from assistant principal to principal of Inskip Elementary School.
  • Ashley Booher, from assistant principal to principal of Cedar Bluff ES.
  • Trina Bruns from Pond Gap principal to Amherst Elementary principal.
  • Jamie Cantrill from Blue Grass ES principal to elementary staffing supervisor
  • Dr. Brad Carr, from Tazwell County Public Schools in Virginia to principal at South-Doyle HS.
  • Brad Corum, from principal at Karns High School to principal at Carter High School.
  • Casey Cutter from Sam Houston in Maryville to principal at Blue Grass Elementary
  • Jennifer Garrett, from principal of elementary virtual schools for KCS to principal of K-12 virtual schools.
  • Melissa Glover, from assistant principal at Hardin Valley MS to principal of Gresham Middle School
  • Kimberly Harris from assistant principal at Northshore to principal at Bonny Kate
  • Laicee Hatfield, from principal of KCS secondary virtual schools to principal at Karns High School
  • Jennifer Hemmelgarn, an attorney, is now the interim assistant superintendent of business and talent.
  • Dr. Susan Hutton, from principal of Dare Elementary in Yorktown, North Carolina, to principal at Brickey-McCloud Elementary.
  • Kristen Jackson from assistant principal to principal at West Hills Elementary
  • Lynn Jacomen from principal at Inskip ES to principal at Hardin Valley ES
  • Alicia Jones, from special education coordinator in Georgia to director of student success.
  • Dr. Karen Loy, from principal at Northwest Middle School to director of special education.
  • Tracy Marsh, from assistant principal at Beaumont to principal at A.L. Lotts.
  • Angie Messer, from principal at Carter HS to music/performing arts specialist KCS.
  • Matthew Mosley from principal at Career Magnet Academy to director of CTE for KCS.
  • Suzanne Parham from assistant principal at Karns Elementary to Farragut Intermediate
  • Donna Parker, from principal at Gresham to secondary staffing supervisor.
  • Dr. Erin Phillips, from director of C&I in Bedford County to executive director of learning and literacy for KCS.
  • Kristi Phillips, from principal at Ridgedale to special education supervisor for KCS.
  • Sunny Poe Scheafnocker from principal at Hardin Valley ES to principal at new northwest elementary.
  • James Slay, from assistant principal at Green Magnet to principal of Gap Creek Elementary School.
  • Taiesha Young, from assistant principal to principal of Pond Gap Elementary School.
  • Josh Van Pelt from interim to full principal at Mooreland Heights Elementary.
  • Tiffany Watkins from principal at Gap Creek to principal at Spring Hill ES.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *