Jenny Boyd on TN Arts Commission

Sandra ClarkOur Town Arts, Our Town Leaders

Jenny Boyd of Knoxville has been appointed by Gov. Bill Lee to a five-year term on the Tennessee Arts Commission. This is interesting because Boyd’s husband, UT President Randy Boyd, competed against Lee for the Republican nomination for governor in 2018.

Boyd will join Knoxvillian Steve Bailey on the 15-member board. Bailey has been active with the Knoxville Museum of Art and is married to Ann Haslam Bailey, the former governor’s sister. His term ends in 2025. He also served on the commission from 2014-18 and was chair in 2018. 

The Tennessee Arts Commission meets quarterly and members are selected to be broadly representative of all geographic areas of the state and all fields of the performing, visual and literary arts, per the website.

“Tennessee’s success depends on engaged citizens, and I am proud to announce these appointees who will ensure our state continues to thrive,” said Gov. Lee. “I commend their leadership and willingness to serve.” Appointees are:

 Arts Commission: Jenny Boyd of Knox County, Cindy Ogle of Sevier County, Kurt Winstead of Williamson County

Forestry Commission: (subject to legislative confirmation) Bill Legg of Lawrence County, Tom Midyett of Knox County

Megasite Authority of West Tennessee Board of Directors Chair: Charlie Tuggle of Shelby County

Tennessee Housing Development Agency Board of Directors: Todd Skelton of Knox County

University of Tennessee Board of Trustees: (subject to legislative confirmation) Shanea McKinney of Shelby County, David Watson of Hamilton County

University of Tennessee Chattanooga Advisory Council: (subject to legislative confirmation) Fred Decosimo of Hamilton County

University of Tennessee Health Science Center Advisory Council: (subject to legislative confirmation) Josh Wayman of Davidson County

University of Tennessee Knoxville Advisory Council: (subject to legislative confirmation) Tomi Robb of Knox County, John Tickle of Bristol, Virginia

University of Tennessee Martin Advisory Council: (subject to legislative confirmation) Art Sparks of Obion County, Julia Wells of Crockett County.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *