Fugate gets Claude C. Myers award

Sandra ClarkFeature, Fountain City

John Fugate, retired executive with Commercial Bank in Fountain City, received the top award from the Fountain City Business and Professional Association Wednesday at the group’s Christmas party, hosted this year by Sharon Jennings at Priority Financial Solutions.

It was a time for catching up with old friends like Mark Enix, Richard Tumblin and John Thaller. It was a time for meeting new business owners in Fountain City – a great group of folks.

Eric Wolberg will be president of the association in 2019, following Beth Wade. Wolberg introduced his friend Fugate at the party, saying John has devised many ways to make money – farming, banking, various businesses. “He has a great sense of business and a great sense of giving.”

John’s wife, Sandra Fugate, was present. The couple have three children and nine grandchildren. John is a board member and a past president of the Fountain City BPA. He currently serves on the board of directors for Beaver Brook Country Club and the E-911 board. He served a term on the Knox County school board. He and Sandra attend Calvary Baptist Church, and John is an avid golfer.

He received the award given annually in memory of Claude C. Myers, longtime president of Fountain City Bank.

“Fountain City is a really, really special place to me,” Fugate said. “I worked here for 12 years. People in Fountain City will accept you, but they want to see you take part in the community.”

Money raised from the silent auction and from tickets for door prizes will be donated to Fountain City area schools. Regina Reed organized the food, as usual, and poured the best holiday punch in town. I noticed a label on the jug read “Wanda Elkins,” and I’m wondering if she shared her recipe with my grandmother, the late Myrtle Clark.

Grandma’s punch was so good that we gave her a glass bowl one year, just to encourage her to keep “punching.”

Officers and board of Fountain City Business and Professional Association: (front) Jeff Bagwell,, Sharon Jennings, Samantha Parris, Eric Wolberg, Regina Reed, Hannah Hankins; (back) Mark Enix, R. Larry Smith, Andrew Hartung, John Fugate and John Thaller. Not pictured: Beth Wade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *