New schools for three KCS principals 

Sandra ClarkOur Town Youth

Superintendent Dr. Jon Rysewyk has reassigned three elementary or preschool principals, all effective July 2023.

Jason Harris has been appointed principal of Karns Preschool. Since joining KCS in 2002, Harris has taught at Belle Morris Elementary, Vine Middle and was a lead teacher at Maynard Elementary. He has been an administrative assistant at Austin-East Magnet and at A.L. Lotts Elementary. He has served as assistant principal at A.L. Lotts, Gibbs Elementary and is now at Sterchi Elementary. He holds three degrees from the University of Tennessee and an education specialist degree from LMU.

April Partin has been appointed principal of Cedar Bluff Preschool. She joined KCS in 2001 as a teacher at A.L. Lotts, where she taught several years and served as a lead teacher. She began her career in administration in 2012 when she was appointed assistant principal at A.L. Lotts. She also served as an assistant principal at Green Magnet Academy and Karns Elementary. In 2018, she was named principal of Shannondale Elementary, and in 2019, she became principal of Lonsdale Elementary, where she currently serves. She, too, has three degrees from the University of Tennessee and an education specialist degree from LMU.

Desiree Jones has been appointed principal of Cedar Bluff Middle School. Jones joined KCS in 1996 upon graduation from the University of Tennessee and worked 15 years as a high school teacher. She served as English department chair at Hardin Valley Academy from 2008-2011, and as a TAP master teacher at Austin-East High School. She has worked as assistant principal at Carter and Fulton high school and as interim principal and now principal at Vine Middle School. She holds three degrees, all from UT.


Community meetings for KCS Region 5

KCS will hold four community meetings to provide an overview of the district’s Region 5 strategic plan. All meetings are open to the public.

Schools in Region 5 are:

Middle Schools

High Schools

Dr. Dexter Murphy is the region’s director; Sallee Reynolds is the supervisor. Info here. The final meeting is today (5/18/23) at 5:30 p.m. at Sarah Moore Greene Magnet Academy, 3001 Brooks Ave.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *