Scholarships highlight PHS alumni banquet

Sandra ClarkPowell

Golden Grads from the Class of 1969: (front) Bob McConkey, Greta Parrott Stooksbury, Barry Justice, Steve Rose, Rick Violet, Linda Hooper Cox, Janice Honeycutt Hunt; (back) Brent Ledgerwood, Ron Evans, Bruce Clevenger, Gary Mathes, David Bartlett, Tom Bennett, Tom Whitson; (at banquet but not in photo) Diane Mealer, David Thompson, Randy Fletcher and Teresa Pennington.

Meredith Brannan

The Powell High School Alumni Association celebrated its 101th anniversary with an April 6 banquet at the high school. The annual banquet is always the first Saturday in April.

Curt Ramage and Nancy Herd were honored with induction into the Powell High School Alumni Hall of Fame. Presentations were by Justin Bailey and Meredith Brannan.

Cory Payne received the Distinguished Alumni Award, presented by last year’s winner, Austin White.

Matt Lowe received the Distinguished Faculty Award, presented by Larry Stephens.

Principal Dr. Chad Smith spoke, and the Golden Grads of 1969 were recognized.

Rachel Sanders Hurley, alumni association president, was master of ceremonies. Meredith Brannan is the new president, and Austin White is president-elect.

Terri Rose coordinated the scholarship efforts and presented the winners. Entertainment was by the Powell High School Singers, under the direction of Jim Kennedy.

Three engineering scholarships are alumni-funded. Recipients were Ben Sergent (Class of 2015), Pierce Anderson (Class of 2016) and Sarah Norris (Class of 2019).

Board members are: Rachel Hurley, Jon Miller, Justin Bailey, Mike Bayless, Vivian McFalls, Terri Rose, Sam McSpadden, Hank Blanton, Austin White, Daniel Evans, John Hollifield, Susan Martin, Lynette Brown, Meredith Brannan, Ian Reitz, Adam Moussa, Don Cannon and Mary Mahoney. Info:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *