Plowman formalizes mentoring at UT Knoxville

Sandra ClarkOur Town Youth

Just a week ago, we wrote that Dr. Joe Johnson excelled at mentoring future leaders at the University of Tennessee, as he had been mentored by Drs. Edward Boling and Andy Holt.

Imagine our surprise to learn that Knoxville Chancellor Donde Plowman started a leadership academy last year. She already has selected the second-year cohort, which includes 30 deans, associate deans, directors, department heads and other faculty and staff from across the university. Its first meeting was September 20.

The eight-month program identifies emerging campus leaders and further develop their professional and personal leadership skills. The group meets monthly with Plowman and other top university leaders to build on individual strengths and problem-solving skills through critical thinking, creativity and collaboration.

See a list of this year’s members and an archived list of last year’s class.

Class of 2023-2024

  • Carol Andes, director of marketing, Office of Communications and Marketing
  • Misty Anderson, professor, Department of English
  • Jason Baum, executive associate athletics director, Brand Advancement, Athletics
  • Courtney Childers, associate professor and interim director, School of Journalism and Media
  • Doug Coatsworth, Betsey R. Bush Endowed Professor in Behavioral Health and associate dean for research, College of Social Work
  • Janelle Coleman, executive director for diversity and engagement division, Diversity and Engagement
  • Russell Crook, First Horizon Distinguished Professor and head of the Department of Management and Entrepreneurship, Haslam College of Business
  • Kristina Gordon, professor and associate dean for Academic Affairs and Engagement, College of Education, Health and Human Sciences
  • Elizabeth Greene, assistant dean of Finance, Administration and Operations, University Libraries
  • Patrick Grzanka, professor, Department of Psychology; divisional dean for Social Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Tyra Haag, director of News and Information Office, Communications and Marketing
  • Kate Jones, professor and associate head, Department of Physics and Astronomy; divisional dean for Natural Sciences and Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Michelle Kwon, professor and interim associate dean for Diversity, Inclusion and Community Engagement, College of Law
  • Jessy Lawrence, assistant vice chancellor of communications and donor experience, Office of Advancement
  • Sarah Lowe, professor and director, School of Design
  • Vasileious Maroulas, professor, Department of Mathematics
  • Susannah Marshmann, assistant vice chancellor for Leadership and Engagement Division, Student Life
  • Brendan McConville, professor and interim associate dean for Academic and Faculty Affairs, College of Music
  • Nicole McFarlane, ADVANCE and associate professor, Min H. Kai Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Gretchen Neisler, vice provost, International Affairs; director, Center for Global Engagement
  • Agricola Odoi, professor, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Lynne Parker, associate vice chancellor for research; director AI Tennessee Initiative
  • Rose Parker, assistant director, Office of Innovative Technologies
  • CourtneyJo Sandidge, assistant vice provost for first-year experience, Division of Student Success
  • Christopher Stripling, professor and head, Department of Agricultural Leadership Education and Communications
  • Shelia Swift, professor and executive associate dean for Academic Affairs, College of Nursing
  • Clarence Vaughn, director, Office of Diversity and Community Relations, Haslam College of Business
  • David White, professor and interim dean, Herbert College of Agriculture
  • Brian Wirth, Governor’s Chair for Computational Nuclear Engineering
  • Brian Wright, director, VolShop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *