Farragut mayor, town administrator elected to TML board

Wendy SmithFarragut

Farragut Mayor Ron Williams was elected first vice president of the Tennessee Municipal League (TML) during the League’s annual business meeting held in Gatlinburg. David Smoak, Farragut town administrator, was elected to the board of directors.

TML elects three officers, a president and two vice presidents, one representing each grand division of Tennessee. Williams was nominated by a five-member nominating committee composed of municipal officials statewide. He was then elected for a one-year term by a majority vote of the TML membership. TML’s vice presidents are traditionally in line to succeed the president. Henderson Mayor Bobby King was elected president.

Smoak was elected as one of eight district directors to represent his section of the state. He was nominated and elected during a district caucus of TML members from the East Tennessee region.

As members of the TML board of directors, Williams and Smoak will help determine legislation needed by municipalities and establish policy priorities for the League.

Founded in 1940 and based in Nashville, TML is a nonprofit organization founded by cities and towns for mutual assistance and improvement. Representing 99 percent of Tennessee’s municipal citizens, the organization advocates for needed legislative action by the General Assembly, represents municipal interests before state departments and agencies, and – working through the National League of Cities in Washington – seeks to influence federal legislation and policies affecting municipal governments.

Wendy Smith is communications manager for the town of Farragut.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.