Russ Richard takes city’s employee of year award

Paige M. TravisFeature

A land surveyor instrumental in coordinating multiple components of capital projects has been named the city of Knoxville’s Employee of the Year.

Russ Richard, survey project manager for the Civil Engineering Division of the Engineering Department, is the third recipient of this annual award. Mayor Madeline Rogero announced finalists’ names and presented Richard with the award Thursday at the annual Mayor’s Employee Appreciation Picnic and Benefits Fair.

“Russ truly embodies the spirit of a public servant and gladly serves customers and colleagues with the highest possible standard of service,” Rogero said. “He performs his daily duties in an exceptional manner and goes above and beyond to effectively communicate all the work that the engineering department accomplishes.”

Supervisors and colleagues who nominated Richard acknowledged his work ethic, honesty and willingness to assist fellow employees, citizens and other agencies.

His primary responsibility is providing surveying services, a comprehensive task that includes property research as well as coordination with professional engineering staff in the development of capital project construction plans. He’s taken on the additional task of assisting in and resolving potential design problems during a project’s construction phase. Richard performs complex on-site design responsibilities related to municipal construction and maintenance projects, all while successfully scheduling his hectic work flow around the schedules of engineers, contractors, inspectors, consultants and department personnel.

The Employee of the Year finalists were Timmy Joe Collins, Dervy Romero De Papenbrock, Elaine Frank, Renae Groen, Rebecca Johnson and Rodney Wilson.

Paige Travis is a public information specialist for the city of [email protected].

Honorees for city employee of the year with Mayor Madeline Rogero and Vice Mayor Finbarr Saunders: Dervy Romero De Papenbrock, city court assistant; Rodney Wilson, fleet services; Rogero; Timmy Joe Collins, public service; Rebecca Johnson, plans review and inspections; Russ Richard, engineering department; Elaine Frank, office of special events; and Saunders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *