Five new principals announced in Knox County schools

Sandra ClarkUncategorized

Superintendent Bob Thomas has made five leadership choices for Knox County Schools.

Casey Cutter

Dr. Casey Cutter will be principal of Mt Olive Elementary School. He replaces Paula Brown who will become principal at West Haven Elementary.

Cutter joined Knox County Schools in 2010 as a teacher from Colorado. He has taught at Adrian Burnett and Ball Camp elementary schools and worked at Copper Ridge Elementary while attending the Leadership Academy in 2012. He currently is assistant principal at Norwood Elementary.

He holds a bachelor’s degree in business from the University of Colorado, a master’s in elementary education from Regis University and a doctorate in educational leadership and policy studies from the University of Tennessee.

Kim Harrison

Kim Harrison is the new principal at West Hills Elementary School. She joined KCS in 1986 upon graduating from UT. She replaces Ina Langston who was appointed principal at Fountain City Elementary.

Harrison taught for 24 years at Karns and Sequoyah elementary schools and was part of the 2010 Leadership Academy. She has been assistant principal at Rocky Hill and Karns elementary schools.

She holds degrees in special education and administration and supervision from UT and a master’s in administration from LMU.

Joann Bost

Joann Bost is the new principal at Whittle Springs Middle School. She joined KCS in 2000 upon graduating from Carson-Newman University. She replaces Nadriene Jackson.

Bost taught at Whittle Springs for eight years before joining Project GRAD Knoxville. She worked as a math coach at Carter Middle and a master teacher at South-Doyle Middle prior to being appointed assistant principal at Carter Middle where she currently serves.

In addition to a bachelor’s in elementary education from Carson-Newman, she holds a master’s in administration from LMU.

Paula Brown

Paula Brown is principal at West Haven Elementary, after serving as principal at Mt. Olive Elementary. She replaces Connie Smith. She joined KCS in 1994 as a teacher at Cedar Bluff Intermediate. She was elected president of the Knox County Education Association in 2001, and she also worked with Project GRAD. She began her career in administration in 2008 as assistant principal at Austin-East High School. She was part of the Leadership Academy in 2011 and placed at Bearden High as an assistant principal.

Brown holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology and special education from ETSU, a master’s in curriculum from UT and an education specialist degree from LMU.

Jessica Holman

Jessica Holman is the new principal at Green Magnet Academy, replacing Dexter Murphy who left the system.

She joined KCS in 2003 as a teacher at Dogwood Elementary. She served for two years as president of the Knox County Education Association, is a graduate of the Principals’ Leadership Academy and has worked as assistant principal at Christenberry Elementary and as principal at Inskip Elementary.

Holman holds a bachelor’s degree in human ecology, a master’s in child and family studies and an education specialist degree, all conferred by the University of Tennessee.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.